Gorillaz have announced their long-awaited album that will be released on 28th April. The new project called Humanz is a“party, club record”, said Damon Albarn, singer and musician of the cartoon band, but it has a “weird darkness about it”. The standard edition spans fourteen tracks, with the deluxe edition tacking on five bonus cuts, and comes complete with a guest contributors list that includes Grace Jones, Mavis Staples, Carly Simon, Grace Jones, De La Soul, PushaT, Danny Brown, Vince Staples, D.R.A.M, Popcorn, Kali Uchis and Kelela.

“We’re in transition, we’re turninginto something else,” told Albarn about the new album. “Just imagine, the weirdest, most unpredictable thing that changes everything in the world. How would you feel on that night? Would you go and get drunk? Would you stay at home? Just watch TV? Would you talk to people?”. Written several months before America’s presidential election, Humanz took on an entirely different meaning following Donald Trump’s unexpected victory. “I suppose we were imagining the idea of Donald Trump. It’s not about Donald Trump at all. But it was imagining that in a way. That was our dark fantasy, and unfortunately that became our reality.”

Futurist digi-band debuted the new album's material at a secret London gig on Friday night - March 24th - after announcing the concert on social media Thursday night. The secret show marked the Gorillaz's first concertin seven years and took place at London's Printworks with parts streamed worlwide to watch via the band's Facebook page. "I'm not going to introduce everyone because I'd spend the whole evening doing that, but just enjoy the record," said Albarn on stage, performing with De LaSoul, Noel Gallagher, Pusha T and other special guests.

Listen to new song Saturn Barz.

Humanz Tracklist:

01. Ascension (feat. Vince Staples)

02. Strobelite (feat. Peven Everett)

03. Saturnz Barz (feat. Popcaan)

04. Momentz (feat. De La Soul)

05. Submission (feat. Danny Brown & Kelela)

06. Charger (feat. Grace Jones)

07. Andromeda (feat. D.R.A.M.)

08. Busted and Blue

09. Carnival (feat. Anthony Hamilton)

10.  Let Me Out (feat. MavisStaples & Pusha T)

11. Sex Murder Party (feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz)

12. She’s My Collar (feat. Kali Uchis)

13. Hallelujah Money (feat. Benjamin Clementine)

14. We Got The Power (feat. Noel Gallagher and Jehnny Beth)


Deluxe edition bonus tracks:

15. The Apprentice (feat. Rag’n’bone Man, Zebra Katz & Ray BLK)

16. Halfway To The Halfway House (feat. Peven Everett)

17. Out Of Body (feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz & Imani Voshana

18. Ticker Tape (feat. Carly Simon & Kali Uchis)

19. Circle Of Friendz (feat. Brandon Markell Holmes)

Keep up to date with Haikure — Sign up for our daily newsletter and follow us on social media